7/22/18

I See Life Through Rose`-Colored Glasses






I See Life Through Rose`-Colored Glasses: True Stories and Confessions by Lisa Scottoline and Francesca Serritella. New York: St. Martins Press, 352 pages. *****

Seeing life through the lens of this mother-daughter team is hilarious, touching, and real. This collection of stories is totally relatable, they invite us into their imperfect lives and allow us to join in the comedic side of life.

No subject is off limits, from a do it yourself colonoscopy, to peeling a hard-boiled egg and giving up a pool chair to a pool bully.
Lisa points out the incongruities of growing older and the way in which we cope with emerging technologies (Live Feeds), news stories on Facebook (it's all true especially the snake coming out of the toilet), a favorite uncle Mikey who brings Christmas presents that fell off of the back of a truck and the power of steroids to heal a sore throat while providing the energy to accomplish everything needed for Christmas.
Francesca navigates us through her dating world, planning her birthday, and knowing when it is over as evidenced by a ravaged birthday cake. Her empathy and love for her pets shine through in her advocacy for air conditioning and a dog stroller for Ruby, "Francesca Serritella, Attorney at Paw."

The stories are a must read for this summer, this writing duo has an endless supply of everyday occurrences for us to laugh with them and at ourselves.

A previous book, summer 2017.
I need a Lifeguard everywhere but the pool.

I received an ecopy for a review.

Lisa and her daughter Francesca write a Sunday humor column, Chick Wit, for the Philadelphia Inquirer. These stories have been collected in a New York Times bestselling series of books including this one. Scottoline presently has 30 million copies in print in the United States, not including audio, e-book and various large print editions. Internationally, Lisa is published in 35 countries.

The Other Woman


The Other Woman by Sandie Jones. Minotaur Books, 2018. 304 pages. ***** Publication Date August 21, 2018.

Emily is content living the independent life until she meets and falls in love with Adam.  He's kind, considerate, and is equally in love with her. Adam speaks so highly of his mother and seems so protective of her, that Emily is thrilled when he finally introduces them. Until...she gets to know Pammie, the evil future mother-in-law. Pammie seems to have Adam's best interests at heart and Emily tries to give his mother the benefit of doubt and not complain about her behavior. James, Adam's handsome brother, becomes her ally in the family's dynamics and Emily begins to feel drawn to James when Adam doesn't see how manipulative his mother is to all of them. Pammie seems determined to sabotage the wedding, even taking it upon herself to invite Emily's former best friend to the bachelorette activities despite hard feelings between them. 

Considering that it is Jones' debut novel, the plot is filled with suspense, conflicts, and enough twists and turns to keep me guessing. Readers of psychological thrillers will enjoy her convoluted plot. 

Fans of The Girl in Cabin 10, B.A. Paris, and Mary Kubica will enjoy this novel. I look forward to more from Jones and hopes that she develops as an author in the psychological thriller genre. 

I received an ecopy for a review.


Sandie Jones has been a freelance journalist for over 20 years, interviewing celebrities such as Justin Timberlake, Isla Fisher, Simon Cowell and Naomie Harris. Her debut novel, The Other Woman, is a psychological thriller about the destructive relationship between a woman and her partner's mother.

If Sandie wasn't an author she'd be an interior designer as she has an unhealthy obsession with wallpaper and cushions!She lives in London, England, with her husband and three children.

A Merciful Silence




A Merciful Silence by Kendra Elliot. (Mercy Kilpatrick Book #4) Seattle: Montlake Romance, 2018.  344 pages. *****

Eagle's Nest police officer Ben Cooley is driving home when he sees that the road ahead of him is washed out by the heavy rain.  Calling for assistance, he reports that the guardrail is gone and then he notices the rock with eye sockets and teeth. In the latest FBI Special Agent Mercy Kilpatrick and Eagle's Nest police chief Truman Daly story, this crime-solving duo attempt to solve a present-day mass murder and in the process, revisit a similar 20-year-old murder case. The convicted killer in the previous murder is behind bars, so is this the work of a copycat or has the wrong man been incarcerated? There is a witness to the first murder if only she could remember what happened on that fateful night. 


This book is the latest one in the series, and while some series may grow stagnant or stall, this one keeps getting better. Be prepared...once you start this book, you are not going to want to stop until the last page. 

I received an ecopy for a review.


Kendra Elliot has sold over 5 million books, hit the Wall Street Journal top ten bestseller list six times, and is a three-time winner of the Daphne du Maurier award. 
Her 2017 release, A MERCIFUL DEATH, was a #1 Amazon overall bestseller and was optioned for TV by Warner Brothers Television and Ellen Degeneres' A Very Good Production. 
She is also an International Thriller Writers' finalist and a Romantic Times finalist. She grew up in the lush Pacific Northwest and still lives there with her family, three cats, and two Pomeranians. She's always been fascinated with forensics, refuses to eat anything green, and can't wait to wear flip flops every day. 
More on Kendra Elliot on her website https://www.kendraelliot.com/home/.

#thriller #mystery #romance