6/17/16

Behind Closed Doors



Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris. New York: St. Martin's Press, 2016. 351 pages. *****+

"Grace Angel, wife of the brilliant lawyer Jack Angel, is a perfect example of a woman who has it all---the perfect house, the perfect husband, the perfect life." On the surface artist Grace's life is perfect, but she is desperate and terrified at the same time for someone to notice that it isn't. Grace is the guardian of her sister, Millie, who has Down's syndrome and will soon move into their home. Jack has embraced this responsibility as well and is helping to ready a room in their house for Millie's arrival. Grace's parents have moved to New Zealand, so she cannot expect any help from them in protecting Millie and discovering how controlling and abusive Jack has become towards her.

This dark, psychological and heart-stopping thriller sucked me right in, I stayed up half the night reading it. First published in the UK, it's not hard to believe that it was #1. Paris looks into the deepest part of the human soul and takes us there with her. Fans of Mary Kubica and Karin Slaughter will want to add B. A. Paris to their favorite author list.

This book has a great marketing campaign...I received an advanced copy, a postcard, ransom letter, and other print materials to promote the book.

I received an Early Reader's Edition from the publisher for a review. BookSparks has added it to their Fall Reading Challenge 2016.


B.A. Paris grew up in England but has spent most of her adult life in France. She has worked both in finance and as a teacher and has five daughters. Behind Closed Doors is her first novel.

#behindcloseddoors #staysingle #FRC2016 @BookSparks #BookSparks

No comments: